TEMPORARY DISPATCH UPDATE 📦 Orders can still be placed as normal, but please note that dispatch will be paused 7th–21st October. Orders will resume shipping from 22nd October 2026. Thank you for your patience and support! 💚

Are Oats Gluten Free?

Are Oats Gluten Free?

There's so much confusion surrounding whether oats contain gluten.

And we often get asked often if our recipes are gluten-free.

 

So are oats gluten-free?

The good news is our porridge oat recipes don't contain gluten.

 

This is because all oats are gluten-free! 

 

However, there is a risk that oats can get contaminated as often manufacturing or processing sites also handle wheat, barley, and rye, all of which do contain gluten.

 

In addition, oats contain a protein called avenin. Avenin is an allergen that is present in any food containing oats. This protein may trigger common sensitivities such as, 

  • Abdominal pain
  • Weight loss
  • Fatigue
  • Anemia
  • Skin rashes

With any such sensitivity,  your doctor may suggest you cut out oats. A very small percentage of those diagnosed with celiac disease could be affected. 

 

If you are sensitive to avenin*, choosing gluten-free oats will not help since these still contain avenin.

 

And unfortunately, avenin cannot be removed in the milling or production process.

 

Legally, we have to highlight oats as an allergen, because of avenin, on our product labelling.

 

The gluten risk stems from cross-contamination in the production process, from grains such as wheat and barley, which naturally contain gluten.

 

In summary, only people on a strict gluten-free diet require oats that are produced in a gluten-free environment.

 

To note, we have many gluten-intolerant customers who enjoy our range.

 

*Further information on the research regarding avenin can be found here, and why oats are generally safe for Coeliac Disease patients.


 

 

 

 

Authors
Archive